< Back to Latest News

ACC Athletics 2012

The ACC Athletics Carnival was held on Wednesday, 28 March at the new Albert Park Athletics Centre.

We had 54 students selected to represent De La Salle on this day from a training squad of well over 100 members. All team members represented the College with pride and competed with determination and spirit.

After being relegated to Division 2 following last year’s Carnival, we were hoping that 2012 would be our first and last year in this Division. However, despite a much improved team performance this year, we fell 37.5 points behind St Joseph’s Geelong at the end of the Carnival to finish in 2nd place out of 5 schools in Division 2.

There were some fine individual performances from our De La Salle Team Members and congratulations to the following students for winning their respective events at the ACC Carnival:

Zach Spencer – Senior 100m
Jack Gava – Senior 1500m
Lachlan Knowles – Senior 800m
Justin Hall – Senior Shot Put
Nick Curwood – Senior Triple Jump
Charles Stewart – Senior Discus
Alex Di Medio – Under 17 Hurdles, 100m, 200m, 400m
James Dennehy – Under 17 Triple Jump
Thaao Siriopoulos – Under 17 Shot Put
Nik Perry – Under 16 400m
Nick Catrice – Under 15 1500m
Zac Hellyer – Under 15 Triple Jump
Mack Beadman – Under 14 100m and 200m
Lachlan Harris – Under 13 100m

Our 4 x 100m Relay Teams all performed very well towards the end of the day with DLS winning three out of the six age group relays:

Under 13
Nick Watson‐Munro
Leon Lymbouris
Dom Tesoriero
Lachlan Harris

Under 14
Chris Ghersi
Sam Michael
Liam Murphy
Mack Beadman

Under 15
Jesse Toniolo
Julien Khoury
Andrew Walker
Liam Bisognin

We also managed to bring home some silverware for our trophy cabinet by winning the Senior Cup (Under 17 and Senior Age Groups). Whilst our Senior Team was narrowly beaten by St Joseph’s Geelong, our Under 17 Team won their age group quite convincingly to deliver the Senior Cup to DLS.

The team was ably led by Zach Spencer (Captain) and Charlie Haley (Vice Captain). Both of these Senior boys led the team superbly on and off the track and I thank them for their leadership.

The training squad was most fortunate to have the assistance from many staff members throughout our training period and I sincerely thank the following members of the ACC Athletics Coaching Staff for their time and effort: Mick Ryan, Lucy Neil, Andrew Wozencroft, Simon Brown, Peter Larsen, Luke Martin, Tom Curry, David Alexander and Ray Leetham.

Special thanks again this year to Damien O’Shea (ex DLS student and current parent) for his valuable assistance with our sprinters and great athletics knowledge and expertise. Winning three out of six relays is testimony to the great work done by Damien!

We certainly hoped to be back in Division One for next year but we were simply beaten by a better team on the day. Our overall team effort and enthusiasm was a vast improvement on last year and we now look forward to winning Division 2 next year.

Our Lasallian relatives from Mentone join us in Division 2 Athletics next year so the challenge remains for us in 2013 to return to our rightful place in Division One ACC Athletics!

Peter Harte
Director of Sport


Click the thumbnail below to view each photo.

Posted on:
Category: News, Sport