< Back to Latest News

Year 8 Football Lightning Premiership

The Year 8 students had waited over 5 weeks since their Footy Day was postponed due to inclement weather. The Home Room Footy Competition was rescheduled to Tuesday, 17 September at Darling Park. With torrential rain falling well into the night before Game Day, more disappointment for the boys loomed just like the relentless rain clouds!

However, by the time the ball was ready to be bounced on Tuesday morning, the rain had cleared and we were all primed for a great day of footy fun. With our Year 8 De La Salle Football Team winning the ACC Premiership in Term 2, there was sure to be plenty of talent to be showcased.

After the preliminary rounds were completed, 8 Roland finished on top of the ladder and looking likely to progress to the ultimate match. They easily accounted for 8 Hegarty in the Semi Final and had to wait to meet either Vincent or Benilde in the Big Dance. Benilde managed to reverse the result from their encounter earlier in the day and booked a meeting with the rampaging Roland.

Despite the efforts of the brave Benilde boys, Roland were too strong all over the ground from start to finish in the Grand Final and recorded a comfortable 31 point victory to be the 2013 Year 8 Football Premiers.

With Ms D’Angelo out injured, Mr Feather proved to be a suitable acting coach for the day as he steered his boys to premiership glory.

There were many fine Roland players in the Grand Final but Harry Gustin of 8 Solomon was unanimously judged as Best on the Ground and received the prestigious Andrew Carrazzo Medal.

All Year 8 students who participated can be very proud of their enthusiastic and positive approach towards their long awaited Football Lightning Premiership Day.

The students listed below were nominated by their Home Room Teachers as the Most Valuable Players for their respective Home Room Teams:

8 Benilde – Charlie McGaw
8 Dunstan – Spencer Cox
8 Hegarty – Aaron Trusler
8 Jerome – Antonio Chiodo
8 Roland – Harrison Gill
8 Solomon – Jack Higgins
8 Vincent – Zach Patrick

Certificates will be awarded to these MVPs at the next Tiverton Campus Assembly.

The final ladder for the day was:

Premiers – Roland
Runners Up – Benilde
3rd – Vincent
4th – Hegarty
5th – Dunstan
6th – Jerome
7th — Solomon

Footy Fever has concluded at De La Salle for another year but we now all look forward to seeing her will be crowned the 2013 AFL Premiers during our upcoming school holidays.


Peter Harte
Director of Sport



Posted on:
Category: News, Sport