< Back to Latest News

De La Salle take home the 2015 La Salle Cup

The De La Salle first XVIII footballers travelled out to St Bede’s to battle for the La Sallian Cup.

St Bede’s, the reigning premiers, started strongly and by quarter time held a seven goal lead over De La Salle. However, in true De La spirit, the students rallied together to gain the ascendancy over their rivals and mount a spirited comeback. With fast ball movement; St James recruits Lyons, Beveridge and Taylor taking control around the stoppages; and Hawker controlling the air in the backline, De La Salle entered the main break only two goals behind.

The second half saw De La Salle take control with Colak and Michael kicking early goals to put De La Salle in front for the first time. From there the game became a tight contest — with both teams trading goals in a close encounter — before Murphy kicked the sealer in the last quarter to give De La Salle a well-earned win and claim the La Sallian cup for 2015.

St Bedes: 10. 3. 63
De La Salle College: 11. 5. 71

Mr Rob Bonnici

Posted on:
Category: News