< Back to Latest News

Victorian Interschool Snowsports Championship

This year De La Salle continued the long standing tradition of putting together a team to represent the College at Mt Buller for the Victorian Interschool Snowsports Championship.

With less snow on the ground than last year and all weather conditions prevailing, 14 students from Year 7 to 11 participated in either SkierX or BoarderX on the Skyline course, which contained plenty of high speed banking curves and jumps. This year all our students completed the challenging and, at times, icy course to receive their individual times.

Special mention goes to our five year veteran, Will Jones of Year 11. Will narrowly missed out on gaining entry into the Division 1 final (Year 11 and 12) by less than a second. We may see Will competing next year to better this great result. Due to late injuries, Ted McCarthy (Year 7) and Luke Barron (Year 10) had to withdraw from the trip and we hope to see these students in the 2016 DLS Ski Team. Mr Stokes and Mr Slavin were joined by Mr Tom Ryan for two days to assist in the running of this trip. All staff served as officials on our competition days.

Members of the 2015 DLS Ski Team were:

MacKenzie Bohl 7H
Elan Crowe 7D
Ted McCarthy 7D
Will Martin 7R
Mason Powell 7R
Tom Martin 8R
Max Moolman 9M
Charlie Vandergriff 9H
Ethan Powell 9B
Nathan Blizzard 9H
Adrian Loo Yong Kee 9V
Charlie Bird 10V
Spencer Embrey 10D
Will Jones 11S
Ben Williams 11D

 Mr Shane Slavin, Mr Ken Stokes and Mr Tom Ryan

Posted on:
Category: News