Sport News

Year 9A Cricket Premiers

Congratulations to Michael Wilson and the Year 9A cricketers on their premiership win yesterday. I managed to get down after school for much of the game and the standard of cricket was exceptional. De La made 139 runs off their allotted 30 overs in an innings that ebbed and flowed on a number of occasions. Our openers Jakob Devine (42 runs not out — compulsory retirement) and Josh Webb (23 runs) did remarkably well to not lose a wicket until in the 50s. The innings slowed down after the loss of a few key wickets before Elias Fernandez came in at number nine and scored 34 runs in quick time

We started our bowling well, having Whitefriars 2 for 30 off the first seven overs. Whitefriars then got some momentum with some intelligent batting and forced their way into a commanding position. The game was balanced with 30 runs required off the last 30 balls. With some intelligent bowling, good captaincy from Declan Foley and some amazing efforts in the field we managed to hold out for the win. Josh Webb bowled five overs with figures of 2 for 8 including the last over of the game which he got 1 for 1. Tom Kelly also bowled beautifully with 2 for 13 and congratulations must go to Mitch Gerney and Eliaz Fernandez, with match turning run outs in some extraordinary pieces of fielding

Thank you to Gerard Barns for scoring and our 9B coach Tom Ryan for his support of the boys.

Mr Jon Edgar
Director of Sport

Year 7 ACC Cricket-Division 2

ACC Premiership goes to De La! Scores: De La Salle 690 defeated St Bernard’s 586

Congratulations to all boys in the squad for this season. They remained unbeaten throughout the season and thoroughly deserved their victory in the final. All the boys in the squad made a contribution in the lead up games and even though some boys missed out on playing in the grand final their input was important in helping the team achieve success.

Well done to all concerned!

Jeff Locke

Back to The Duce Issue 2016 18 - 1 December 2016